A Detroit Tigers pitcher was denied a shot at baseball history, all because of an umpire’s bad call.
Armando Galarraga was one out away from a perfect game when a batter tried to run out a ball hit to the right side of the infield. He had already retired 26 batters.
Galarraga actually ran to cover first base, and it seemed like the ball beat the hitter, marking the 21st perfect game in baseball history.
Instead, the umpire called the runner safe, and history was denied.
Upon further review, the replays showed the batter was actually out.
The umpire saw the replays after the game and personally apologized to Galarraga, saying the call was the biggest of his life.
Only an unprecedented review by baseball’s commissioner could possibly change the result of the game, and award Galarraga the perfect game.
What do you think?
Should the commissioner overturn that bad call, and give the pitcher his perfect game?
Or, are the rules the rules?
Let us know what you think and we’ll read some of your thoughts on air.